Minutes of the Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fairfield Public School District No. 112, Wayne County, Illinois, held in the District Board Room, 200 West Center, Fairfield, Illinois, on Monday, April 26, 2021.

AGENDA #1 – Call to Order – The meeting was called to order at 6:00 P.M. by President Dan Coomer, who directed the Secretary to call the roll.

AGENDA #2 – Roll Call – The Secretary called the roll and the following members answered to their names as called and were found to be present:

Carrie Newman, Scott Foster, Angie Koontz, Jason McCulley, Amy Sager, Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer Members Absent: None

There being a quorum present, the President declared the Board of Education to be in session for the transaction of business.

OTHERS PRESENT: E. Scott England, Superintendent; April Smith, Center Street Principal; Kristina Gardner, North Side Principal

AGENDA #3 – Citizens – Non-Agenda Items.

#### AGENDA #4 – Adjourn Sine Die (Indefinitely)

4.1 A motion was made by Member Amy Sager to adjourn sine die since there was no further business to come before this Board. The motion was seconded by Member Scott Foster, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Shane Neuman, Carrie Newman, Scott Foster, Jason McCulley, Dan Coomer, Amy Sager, Angie Koontz Members Absent: None The President declared the motion passed.

# AGENDA #5 – Seat New Board Member

A motion was made by Member Carrie Newman to proclaim the results of the election and to elect the following person as a member of the Board of Education: Jason McCulley. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Angie Koontz, Amy Sager, Carrie Newman, Scott Foster, Dan Coomer, Jason McCulley, Shane Neuman Members Absent: None

The President declared the motion passed.

- 5.2 Seat New Board Member
- 5.3 Lead Elected Board Member in the Oath of Office

#### AGENDA #6 – Selection of Officers Pro Tem

There were two nominations made for President Pro Tem. Scott Foster nominated Angie Koontz. Carrie Newman nominated Amy Sager. On a hand vote, Angie Koontz received 3 votes and Amy Sager received 4 votes.

A motion was made by member Carrie Newman to elect member Amy Sager as 6.1 President pro tem. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Scott Foster, Amy Sager, Angie Koontz, Jason McCulley, Carrie Newman, Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer

Members Absent: None

The President declared the motion passed.

Angie Koontz was the only nomination for Secretary Pro Tem.

6.2 A motion was made by member Jason McCulley to elect member Angie Koontz as Secretary pro tem. The motion was seconded by member Carrie Newman, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Jason McCulley, Scott Foster, Angie Koontz, Amy Sager, Dan Coomer, Shane Neuman, Carrie Newman

Members Absent: None

The President declared the motion passed.

## AGENDA #7 Call Meeting to Order by President Pro Tem –

The meeting was called to order at 6:10 P.M. by the President pro tem who 7.1 directed the Secretary pro tem to call the roll. The Secretary pro tem called the roll and the following members answered to their names as called and were found to be present:

Angie Koontz, Scott Foster, Amy Sager, Jason McCulley, Dan Coomer, Carrie Newman, Shane Neuman

Members Absent: None

The President declared the motion passed.

# AGENDA #8 – Resolution Regarding Terms of Offices

A Motion was made by member Jason McCulley to approve the terms of office as 8.1 a two-year period through the next school board member election for the President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Amy Sager, Angie Koontz, Jason McCulley, Scott Foster, Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer, Carrie Newman

## AGENDA #9 – Election of Officers

- 9.1 A motion was made by member Carrie Newman to nominate member Amy Sager as President of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Shane Neuman.
- A motion was made by member Jason McCulley to nominate member Scott 9.2 Foster as Vice-President of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager.
- 9.3 A motion was made by member Amy Sager to nominate member Angie Koontz as Secretary of the Board. The motion was seconded by member Jason McCulley.

<sup>\*</sup>Nominations for officers do not require a vote unless two people are nominated.

9.4 A motion was made by member Jason McCulley to appoint Ashlea Devoy as District's Treasurer. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager.

# AGENDA #10 – Set Remaining Dates/Locations for Regular Board Meetings

10.1 A Motion was made by member Jason McCulley to set the following Monday dates as Board Meeting Dates: May 17, 2021; June 21, 2021; and July 19, 2021. The motion was seconded by member Amy Sager and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Angie Koontz, Scott Foster, Amy Sager, Jason McCulley, Dan Coomer, Shane Neuman, Carrie Newman
Members Absent: None
The President declared the motion passed.

AGENDA #11 – Closed Session to Discuss Information Regarding Appointment, Employment, Retirement, or Dismissal of an Employee, Labor Relations, Collective Negotiations, Litigation, and Student Discipline (5ILCS 120/2a)

The Board of Education did not enter closed session.

AGENDA #12 – Action Items None

AGENDA #13 – Information Items None

#### AGENDA #14 – Adjournment

14.1 A motion was made by member Carrie Newman that the meeting adjourn at 6:41 P.M. The motion was seconded by member Jason McCulley, and on a roll call vote the following members voted yea:

Scott Foster, Angie Koontz, Amy Sager, Jason McCulley, Shane Neuman, Dan Coomer, Carrie Newman